Elements and Doshas

In Ayurveda, five elements are recognised as the elementary structure of nature—earth, water, fire, air, and ether (space). Every substance, every cell, contains all five of these elements in the individual and around us.

At the heart of Ayurveda, the principle of “doshas,” which are the metabolic types that make up an individual’s foundation. The doshas are the necessary forces behind an individual’s physical, mental, and emotional comprise. There are three doshas, “Vata,” “Pitta,” and “Kapha.”